Children grow up learning to deal with one another in school, however for some children the experience isn’t always pleasant. For one senior at Christiansburg High School it was downright haunting.

Alexandra Wolff moved from Howard County, Maryland after a series of events involving bullying kept her out of school.

“…For a lot of time I kept it to myself cause I felt like I was a target and a victim and it was very embarrassing and I was almost ashamed that this was happening to me,” Wolff said. “I felt like why do I have to be the different one?”

Now she’s taking a stand to confront bullying and put a stop to it. After being elected to a task force in 2008 aimed at finding an immediate solution to bullying, Wolff speaks to the parents to catch the first signs.

“I was just absent a lot from school,” Wolff said. “Nothing was really done, I didn’t leave school but I was miserable when I was in school. Every week I would come in to my mom and say ‘I have a stomach ache, I can’t go to school.'”

She tells parents to watch out for any sign that could point toward bullying. A child’s eating and sleeping habits may change or they could develop depression or anxiety.

Wolff, unlike many students had the support of her mother who constantly found herself at odds with the school system.

“…It seemed very obvious to me, when I looked into it. They just would not do anything,” said her mother. “…I don’t feel–with the exception of that one teacher that they knew how to deal with it as Allie said. And one day I sat in a meeting and I just started crying and I said I can’t do it anymore at this school–there’s nothing I can do.”

Both Wolff and her mother thought the school system needed a change.

“…I don’t think the issues handled very well because so many times bullying is overlooked and so many times administrators and teachers think ‘kids will be kids, so what, kids have to toughen up.,” Wolff said.

The two hope to make a change for the better and give students a comfortable place to learn.

